Kazakhstan declines to join the Russia-Belarus Union

RUSSIA / FSU POLITICS - In Brief 30 May 2023 by Alex Teddy

On May 26 President Tokayev said that Kazakhstan would not be changing its status. Kazakhstan is a member of the Eurasian Economic Union. The other members are Kyrgyzstan, Armenia, Russia and Belarus. In 1999 Belarus and Russia formed the union state. They agreed to full reunification eventually. But this still has not happened.  The President of Belarus suggested that Kazakhstan accede to the union state. He has said one of the benefits would be that Kazakhstan would then protected by nuclear arms. Tokayev said he presumes that this was a joke. Kazakhstan is a member of the Collective Security Treaty Organization as well as the Commonwealth of Independent States along with Russia and Belarus and some other former USSR republics. 

Now read on...

Register to sample a report